Sebastien Ogier becomes 2013 World Rally Champion

After 9 years of total domination, the WRC has a new World Champion. Volkswagens Sebastien Ogier, who has claimed his title in his home country on Rally France.



With Rally France starting off with the power stage. It meant that Ogier’s title decided on the first stage results of Thierry Neuville. Neuville would have to score maximum points on all of the remaining Rallies and Ogier would have to retire for Thierry to be able to overhaul the Frenchman for the title .

But before Ogier even crossed the start line on the Power Stage, Neuville – before him on the road – only managed a 2nd fastest time. With Dani Sordo going fastest, it Meant that Sebastien Ogier has enough points to take away the title, regardless of his or Neuville’s Overall results.

Qatar M-Sport’s Thierry Neuville said, “I think we all knew that Sébastien [Ogier] would be champion this year, but I admit that it happened a little sooner than I would have liked! I was pushing really hard on the Power Stage and was up on Dani [Sordo], but he [Sordo] set a very good time and maybe the soft tyres weren’t the best option for us. But a big congratulations to Sébastien and Julien [Ingrassia] all the same.
“As for the rest of the rally, we know that we have the speed and that the car is good. The forecast too looks as though it could be good for me so anything can happen. I would like to take my first victory this year, but I also need to look to Jari-Matti [Latvala] and think about the Championship. But OK, if we are still in a position to go for the win on Sunday, then I will for sure take more risks to make it happen.”

Sebastien Ogier has, after a year out of WRC, took a brand new car and team Volkswagen, to the World title in the first year of asking.

“The way we have won this title is amazing,” said Ogier. “In a year we have gone
from zero to world champions and it’s such a great story. It’s been a hard year
with a lot of work, development, and effort from everyone. It’s Volkswagen’s
first year in WRC and we have not finished the season yet, but already we are

It was 10 years ago when someone who wasn’t Loeb, won the drivers’ title. And that was, at the time, Subaru World Rally Driver Petter Solberg. When the Norwegian beat Loeb by one point to win. Since then the WRC has been totally dominated by Sebastien Loeb and Citroen Racing. And Loeb in that time broke record after record, to become the greatest driver of all time.

Now its time for a new Champion. And based on the incredible pace that the now 2013 Champ Ogier has shown this year, there could be a few more titles that go to a man named Sebastien.

InsideRally would like to send its biggest Congratulations to Sebastien Ogier & Julian Ingrassia. As well as the whole Volkswagen World Rally team on claiming their first Drivers title. Now on to the Rally, and the big fight for victory.

This entry was posted in WRC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s