Impressive entry for WRC Spain

A total of 62 crews will contest Spain’s round of the World Rally Championship later this month with 20 new-generation World Rally Cars appearing on the provisional entry for the mixed-surface event, which runs from 20-23 October.



Photo: D.Darrall


Included on the list are entries from the Citroen, Ford and MINI factory teams, the return of the Munchi’s Ford World Rally Team following a prolonged absence with a sole registration for Federico Villagra and co-driver Diego Curletto, plus entries from several world championship regulars including M-Sport Stobart Ford, Motorsport Italia and Van Merksteijn Motorsport.

Pierre Campana is entered in the same MINI John Cooper Works WRC he took to his first world championship points in France earlier this month. However, the Corsican’s participation is dependent on him securing the necessary finance. Russian Evgeny Novikov will switch from a Ford Fiesta RS WRC to a Citroen DS3 WRC.

Ten drivers will contest the Super 2000 World Rally Championship finale with WRC Academy pacesetter Craig Breen among the notable highlights alongside title contenders Juho Hanninen, Martin Prokop and Ott Tanak. Irishman Breen has taken over Eyvind Brynildsen’s PS Engineering entry and will drive a Ford Fiesta S2000.

Sixteen crews will fight it out for Production Car World Rally Championship glory with overall champion Hayden Paddon and Production Car Cup winner Harry Hunt both in action.

Other notable entries include Yeray Lemes and Christian Riedemann in a brace of Volkswagen Motorsport-entered Skoda Fabias, while outgoing SWRC champion Xevi Pons, from Spain, is set to take part in a privateer Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X.

This entry was posted in WRC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s